February 17, 2011

  • Sewing Bee and Getting Fit

    Joining Julia at Happiness Comes for this weeks sewing bee.

    This week I created these pillowcases for the little girls for part of their valentines gift.

    And these headbands as well.

    The pillowcases weren’t hard but when you don’t have a proper space to cut fabric your measurements can be a bit off. We live in a small house that offers no extra space for my sewing. I have to take out and put back everything I use between projects. Well, I should, but it doesn’t always happen. Here is a little tour of the space I create while sewing.

    Ta Da! That’s it! One end of the table that is in the kitchen. I have a nice cosy space for the iron and ironing board right next to the wall organizer for all the pots and pans. It’s not much but it’s all I’ve got…for now. One day though I want a sewing room all my own. A room where I can have my fabric out on shelves and all my notions in mason jars displayed in cool ways.

    Now for the health part of the title. It all starts back in 2007 when I lost my dad to cancer. I went home to be with him hoping that I would leave with him on the path to beating the evil disease. Instead I wound up having to shop for clothes for a funeral while I was there. Prior to coming home my husband and I had been walking two miles every night. We only had two littles at the time. One went in a backpack with my husband and the other in a stroller that I pushed. We didn’t own a scale so I wasn’t watching the numbers and while I new my clothes were looser I had not gone out to buy any.

    So while out shopping for pants to wear for the wake and funeral I discovered that I was a size 8. Then I got back home and promptly got pregnant with our 5th daughter. So long size 8 hello size……..13. 

    So I have somewhere between 30-40 lbs to lose.

    We are walking at night again. Just my husband and I so we can move at a fast pace. We did 1mile last night and are working back up to the 2 that we used to do. I am also doing the Walk at Home DVD with Leslie Sansone. It’s the Walk Slim one. I did two miles this morning. My goal is to walk 3 miles everyday for a week. Then I will evaluate where I am and add more. Oh and I am doing an 8min. ab workout that is on our on demand exercise channel. Nothing too intense but a good solid 8min. Got to start somewhere!

    I have five children to keep up with and if I don’t do something to get fit now I know I never will.

    I’m off to down some water and shower. Be glad we don’t have the ability to insert smell into blogs. ;)

    Have an awesome Thursday!!

     

Comments (2)

  • “Smell blogs”…. hahahahaha!!!! The girls & I went for a walk yesterday. We only walked maybe 1/2 a mile, but like you said, ya gotta start somewhere. Our sidewalks are still covered w/ ice in places, & Taryn wore boots instead of tennies. I’m hoping that, after today, it will ALL be gone. I want to get back out today & enjoy the warmth while it’s here. (I heard snow on Monday – are you guys still praying for that?!?!?!? )

  • Love your Valentine projects.  and I so understand about knot having a place to sew and the set up and putting away of everything.  Sometime I think this takes longer than the time I am able to spend sewing.  I am working on a quilt right now and don’t have the space to lie it out to square it up and sandwich the layers – and it is only a throw size quilt.

    Good luck with the weight loss.  I am in the same boat after our last little one and she’s four.  I keep going up and down and can’t seem to get it to level off at the low.  I can’t wait to get out and walk – still too cold here.  Soon – Spring is coming.

    Here is my sewing bee entry for the week:  http://heartfelthomemaking.blogspot.com/2011/02/sedwing-bee-snack-mats-and-baggies.html

    Blessings, Elizabeth

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *