Month: November 2011

  • New Traditions

    As a friend of mine pointed out on Facebook earlier today “New Traditions” does kind of sound off. Not sure what you would call it when you begin something that you want to become a tradition. Maybe I should say I am starting something tonight that I hope will become a tradition for our family.” :)

    Tonight, once our 13yo daughter arrives home we will light the first of four candles in our advent wreath. Advent has always been the calendar countdown from December 1st through Christmas day. We will have one of those as well but this year I have felt a great desire to really connect on a deeper spiritual level than previous years. 

    Four candles representing hope, love, joy and peace. I haven’t decided if we will have the 5th candle for Christmas day. Right now I like how it looks and the plans that I have in place. Scripture, explanation, lighting the candle, song and then prayer. Simple and meaningful. My girls are invited to join us and I hope that they will.