January 26, 2011

  • Yarn Along

    Inspired by Ginny at Small Things

    This is the first in a set of nesting bowls I am knitting for Z as an Easter gift. The pattern calls for bulky weight yarn but I couldn't find any in the bright colors I wanted at my LYS. One of the awesome workers that was there had the idea of buying one skein of Cascade 220 and winding it in a center pull ball. That way I can knit two strands together without having to buy 2 skeins. It was a brilliant idea and I was going to budget for the yarn at tax time. However, my friend Rhonda had other plans.  Without me knowing she bought the four skeins I needed to make the bowls. :)   It went into hibernation when I started knitting the hat in my previous post. They both called for the same sized needles and so I had to rob peter to pay paul. I want to eventually have two sets of all sizes of circulars and DPNs. I tend to cast on in the midst of knitting other projects. I only have two projects on the needles right now but I have had four at one time. I will finish decreasing it tonight and felt it.

    As for the book. I picked it up at the library last week when I was looking for books on homesteading. When I was in highschool  my Uncle Tracey and I always talked about moving out to Montana and buying a horse ranch. I knew nothing about horse, but he did. I was going to be a medical technologist and live in the vast open spaces. Neither of us wound up there. I have never even been to the state. So what does this have to do with the book? It is the story of a woman who did move to Montana with her husband and two sons. It's about love, loss and living life to the fullest. I am enjoying it...picturing the scenes she describes and imagining what it would be like to be there. Maybe one day I will make it there.

Comments (1)

  • How wonderful that your friend was able to help you out and you didn't have to buy a second skein of yarn! I just love the pretty blue color of the yarn and I can't wait to see how they turn out :) Happy knitting!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment